Coraline Movie Review

Hey ya’ll,

I’ve been anticipating this movie for a long while, and yesterday i was able to gaze upon the beauty that is Coraline.

THE SYNOPSIS: A young girl (Fanning) walks through a secret door in her new home and discovers an alternate version of her life. On the surface, this parallel reality is eerily similar to her real life – only much better. But when her adventure turns dangerous, and her counterfeit parents (including Other Mother [Hatcher]) try to keep her forever, Coraline must count on her resourcefulness, determination, and bravery to get back home – and save her family.

From IMDB

Even though I didn’t see it in Real D (BECAUSE THE STOOOPID THEATER DIDN’T HAVE IT!!) I still very much enjoyed the film. It was a visual masterpiece and really well written. The voice acting was amazing and the character and set design simply astonishing! The beauty of the film took me back a bit, the whole time I thought of how long it mustve taken just to complete that one scene or how much attention to detail the clothing and puppets needed. If there was ONE thing i did int to much like about this film, it would be that at some points of the movie it dragged on just a bit, making parts of the movie a tad boring, but even during the boring scenes I still found something to amaze me.

Many have been assuming that Tim Burton was the mastermind behind this brilliant piece of work, but Henry Selick (screenplay) and Neil Gaiman (book) should be given there full deserved credit. The movie took you into the life a little girl, seeing the twisted world in her point of view, seeing it in her point of view was almost comforting, seeing that little Coraline had no fear. I remember thinking while watching the movie “I would be scared SHIT LESS if I was Coraline”, but she plowed through the creepy buttoness alone and fearless. This movie taught the audience that no mater how much of a  boring, dull, horrible, deprived or depressing life you may have, there’s always good in whats present, and as the tag line clearly states ” Be careful what you wish for”.

*****

(5 stars out of 5)

GO SEE IT

-Curtia <3

3 Comments

Filed under Actors, Art, movies

3 responses to “Coraline Movie Review

  1. I thought it was wonderful too. I haven’t read the book yet but I just bought it the other day and it’s on my must read list.

  2. Yeah, it was wonderful.
    And I am also trying to get
    my hands on the original Coraline Novel.

Leave a Reply

